New Bern
92° F
Partly Cloudy
Partly Cloudy
95° F
Scattered Clouds
Scattered Clouds
91° F

Severe Thunderstorm Warning extended for Eastern Carolina

Published On: Jun 13 2013 01:50:03 PM CDT   Updated On: Jun 13 2013 09:41:33 PM CDT
Tracking Risk For Severe Weather

The National Weather Service has extended a Severe Thunderstorm Warning for a few Eastern Carolina counties.

According to the NWS, the following areas will be under the warning until 11:00 p.m:

  1. Duplin County
  2. Onslow County

Meanwhile, a Flood Warning was issued for Lenoir and Wayne Counties.

Earlier, the NWS issued a Severe Thunderstorm Watch that lasted until 10 p.m. for 15 Eastern Carolina Counties. The watch means conditions are favorable for severe thunderstorms to occur. Main threats include winds of more than 80 m.p.h. and large hail.

The Severe Thunderstorm Watch was for Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Greene, Hyde, Jones Lenoir, Martin, Onslow, Pamlico, Pitt, Tyrrell, and Washington Counties.

Affected cities included: Alliance, Arapahoe, Bayboro, Beaufort, Beulaville, Columbia, Emerald Isle, Greenville, Havelock, Hookerton, Jacksonville, Kenansville, Kill Devil Hills, Kinston, Kitty Hawk, Magnolia, Maysville, Minnesott Beach, Morehead City, Nags Head, New Bern, Newport, Oriental, Plymouth, Pollocksville, River Road, Robersonville, Rose Hill, Snow Hill, Southern Shores, Stonewall, Vandemere, Wallace, Wanchese, Warsaw, Washington, and Williamston.

Chief Meteorologist Skip Waters will be doing updates at the top of every hour on NewsChannel 12.